Sachau wins Stuart’s Bones Memorial

first_imgBy Josh ReynoldsSTUART, Iowa (Aug. 11) – Jake Sachau was the $1,000 Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod winner at Stu­art Speedway’s Bones/Richard Welch Memorial Friday night.Josh Sink and Nelson drew the 1-2 chips to make up the front row. Colton Nelson led early over Sink and Doug Smith.Following a lap four restart it was Nelson, Austin Luellen and Hunter Longnecker at the front with Chase Rudolf and Jake Sachau battling it out for fourth. Sachau took that place on lap 10, then worked Longnecker over for third on lap 15.At this point it appeared Nelson was well on his way to the win but cautions came out on laps 22 and 24, the second yellow setting up a two-lap dash for the cash.Nelson led at the white flag but his car pushed severely and allowed Luellen to get up beside him. Mean­while, Sachau snuck it in on the bottom in turn three as Nelson pushed up the track again.Sachau squared off the corner and beat Nelson to the line to take the win and the $1,000 payday. Nelson finished second with Luellen third, Longnecker fourth and Ethan Braaksma fifth.Jeff James was the IMCA Modified winner and Marcus Fagan was first to the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car checkers.Jamie Schirm made what proved to be the winning pass on lap 10 of the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock fea­ture and John Gill prevailed in a four-lap dash to the finish in the Mach-1 Sport Compact main.last_img read more

Deery Series has new point leader for Friday show at Lee County

first_imgDeery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, 182; 2. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, 181; 3. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque, and Matt Ryan, Davenport, both 176; 5. Curt Martin, Independ­ence, 168; 6. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo, 156; 7. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, 155; 8. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove, 144; 9. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, 141; 10. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 139; 11. Justin Kay, Wheat­land, 138; 12. Todd Malmstrom, Hampton, Ill., and John Emerson, Waterloo, both 137; 14. Dalton Simonsen, Fair­fax, 133; 15. Eric Pollard, Peosta, 132; 16. Gary Webb, Blue Grass, 126; 17. Brian Harris, Davenport, 118; 18. Chad Holladay, Muscatine, 117; 19. Paul Nagle, Nevada, 99; 20. Stacy Griffis, Solon, and Terry Neal, Ely, both 85. The Aug. 2 event at Donnellson is the fifth installment of the 2019 IMCA Late Model tour. Joel Callahan of Dubuque is one of the four different drivers with series wins thus far and put his name at the top of the point standings with a fifth place finish last Wednesday at West Union. Also running are IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods and Mach-1 Sport Compacts for national, regional, state and track points. The track website is Pit gates are open all day. The grandstand opens at 5:30 p.m., hot laps are at 7 p.m. with racing to follow. Spectator admission is $15 for adults, $13 for seniors, $5 off for veterans, $8 for stu­dents ages 11-17 and free for ages 10 and under. Pit passes are $30 for adults, $20 for kids ages 7 to 13, $15 for ages 4-6 and $5 for three and under. Friday’s main event, the 495th in series history, pays $2,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start.  Friday marks the 26th visit by the series to Lee County, and the first since September of 2010.  Thirteen different drivers have won Deery events at Donnellson. Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, Ill., owns six career wins there while Gary Webb of Blue Grass has raced his way to victory lane on four occasions and Curt Martin of Independence is a three-time winner there.  The IMCA Late Model tour travels to Boone Speedway for opening night of the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s on Sept. 2. Following the Lee County date are $2,000 to win Deery shows at Quad City Speedway on Aug. 11, at Quincy Raceway on Aug. 18 and at West Liberty Raceway on Aug. 24.  DONNELLSON, Iowa – There’s a new point leader when the Deery Brothers Summer Series makes its much anticipated return to Lee County Speedway this Friday. IMCA.TV will broadcast the Friday race program. last_img read more